The Civil Division of the Court, processes
actions brought by people, businesses or parties to recover property, to force
someone to honor a contract, or to protect one's personal rights.
This Division handles all civil matters,
including family law, juvenile court, probate, and small claims.
Court Clerk Information
Forms and Filing
Ex Parte Hearings
Local Court Rules
Court Clerk Information
Civil/Family Law/Juvenile/Probate/Small Claims Division:
100 North State Street, Room 107
Ukiah, CA 95482-4416
Family Law - (707) 468-2001
Civil Law & Motion - (707) 468-2003
Civil Trials - (707) 468-2004
Juvenile - (707) 468-2006
Probate - (707) 468-2005
Small Claims - (707) 468-2002
Court Clerk's Office Hours:
8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday - Friday
8:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Monday - Friday
Information for other court locations can be found by clicking on the
location name in the left column of this page.
With the unification of the Municipal and Superior courts, the unified
court, now known as the "Superior Court of California, County of Mendocino" has jurisdiction over all small claims,
limited and unlimited civil cases.
- Small Claims
When the amount being sought is $5,000 or less, ($7,500 or less for
natural persons) then the claim may be filed in Small Claims.
(Code of Civil Procedure section 85 et seq.)
The amount claimed cannot be for
more than $25,000.
The amount claimed is
generally more than $25,000, but can be for smaller amounts in certain
types of cases. Other types of
cases filed in the unlimited jurisdiction is family law, probate,
guardianship, conservatorship, juvenile, restraining orders,
Uniform Parentage Act, Uniform Interstate Family Support Act; freedom
from parental custody and control proceedings; adoption proceedings,
petitions for name change; election contest petitions; and petitions for
relief from late claims.
Small Claims Mediation
Mediation gives you the opportunity to reach your own agreement,
rather than having the Court decide the outcome for you.
Court in Ukiah will direct you to Mediation at the commencement of your
hearing. If a resolution is not
reached you will be directed back to the courtroom for commencement of the
Results Oriented – A qualified impartial mediator will facilitate communication
with parties in conflict so they can reach their own workable solutions.
- Results reached in mediation are typically quicker than can be achieved in
– There is no fee to the parties for the first two hours. After the first
two hours, if the parties choose to continue the mediation, the mediator may
charge his or her hourly rate.
- Communications during your mediation are protected by California Evidence
1115 to 1128 as confidential and not admissible as evidence in court.
Any agreement reached in mediation,
however, will be admissible and treated as enforceable by the Court.
Easy to schedule -
If your matter has been scheduled for a court appearance on a Friday morning
in Ukiah, the judicial officer hearing your matter will automatically assign
a mediator to your case the morning of your hearing.
If you would
like to seek mediation prior to your hearing, you can consult your local
phone book, under "Mediation Services" and arrange for mediation.
Forms and Filing
Forms may be either purchased in the civil division clerk's office,
photocopied (10 cents a copy) at the
Law Library or obtained on-line from the
Judicial Council website. By law, the clerks can not provide legal
advice, including which forms to use.
All paperwork must be typewritten. There are typewriters available for
public use at the Public Library at 105 N. Main Street in Ukiah or the Law
Library in the Ukiah courthouse, Room 307.
See the Fee Schedule for civil filing and
appearance fees. If you believe that you are unable to afford these fees,
ask the court clerk for a Request to Waive Fees. There is no charge
for this form.
Pursuant to CCP 411.21, effective January 1, 2006, if you file a complaint
or other first paper and only pay a portion of the fee:
The Court will mail you
a NOTICE of the remaining fee you owe. A $25.00 administration fee will be
assessed for the partial payment, and you will have 20 days from the date the
notice is mailed to pay the remaining fee balance and the $25.00
administration charge, by cash, certified check or money order.
request a REFUND of the partial payment in writing within the 20 days from the
date the notice is mailed. The $25.00 administrative charge will be deducted
from the refund unless you have a trial or other hearing date set before the
20 days are up.
If your trial or hearing is scheduled to be heard before the
20 days are up, the remaining balance must be paid by cash, certified check or
money order BEFORE the matter is heard by the Court.
Unless otherwise ordered, parties may appear by
telephone in cases defined in California Rule of Court 3.670(b) and in
proceedings defined in California Rule of Court 3.670(c).
The court has contracted with CourtCall, LLC to provide
teleconferencing services for court appearances.
Information as to the forms and fees for requesting telephonic
appearances may be obtained directly from CourtCall at -800-88-COURT.
Ex Parte Hearings
Contact the court to reserve your hearing date at
least one-day prior to the date you wish your matter heard. Notice
requirements are in accordance with California Rule of Court 3.1203.
All paperwork must be submitted to the clerk’s office no later than
11:00 a.m. the day of your hearing including the Declaration Regarding
Notice. Local form number
MMC-120 can be used.
Visit our On-Line Court Calendar page for
information on hearings set for the next 30 days.
Calendar times and places are subject to change at any
On the day of the hearing, check the calendars
posted on the calendar bulletin board for that day's court assignments.
The Court organizes and groups similar types of hearings together for
efficiency. The Calendar Plan lists the specific times and courtrooms
that hearings are held.