### Prohibited Persons Notice Form and Power of Attorney for Firearms Relinquishment, Sale or Disposal (Penal Code Section 12021, subd. (d)(2))

Any person who has been convicted of a felony, a specified misdemeanor, or a specified firearms offense; who is addicted to narcotics; who is the subject of a protective order; or who has been found by a court or mental facility to have certain mental disabilities is prohibited by California law from possessing firearms. Please refer to the accompanying document entitled "State of California Firearms Prohibiting Categories" for a complete list of the firearms prohibitions in state law.

Note: The duration of prohibitions vary. Also, federal law may impose additional and/or more restrictive prohibitions on firearms possession. Therefore, a person who is entitled to possess firearms under state law may nevertheless be prohibited from possessing firearms under federal law. For specific legal advice about the duration of a state prohibition, whether a state prohibition is still in effect, or whether federal law prohibits the possession of firearms, please consult with an attorney who is licensed to practice law in the State of California.

The prohibition against firearms possession is effective immediately upon the occurrence of the prohibiting event (such as the date of the conviction, or the date when a protective order is issued) and requires the person who is prohibited from possessing firearms to immediately relinquish all firearms. This form helps the person who is prohibited from possessing firearms comply with the law by designating another person to relinquish, sell or dispose of the firearms on behalf of the prohibited person. However, this form does not transfer ownership of the firearm(s), or confer any rights or privileges other than the right to temporarily possess firearms for the purpose of relinquishment, sale or disposal of those firearms. Both the owner of the firearm(s) and the person who is granted Power of Attorney for Firearms Relinquishment, Sale or Disposal are obligated to comply with state law regarding the sale and transfer of firearms, such as the requirement to transfer ownership of firearms through a licensed firearms dealer. (See Pen. Code, § 12070, subd. (a), et seq.)

A person who is subject to a **protective order** (as defined in Family Code Section 6218) is subject to special rules. Such a person must do <u>both</u> of the following:

- Within 24 hours of being served with notice of the protective order, surrender all firearms to the control of local law enforcement officials, or sell the firearm(s) to a licensed gun dealer; but Immediately surrender the firearm(s) to a law enforcement officer upon an officer's request. (Fam. Code, § 6389, subd. (c)(2).)
- 2) Within 48 hours of receiving the order, provide proof to the court that issued the order that all firearms have been relinquished.

Note: A person who has Power of Attorney for Firearms Relinquishment, Sale or Disposal in a case where a protective order is issued must surrender the firearms to the control of local law enforcement officials, or sell the firearms to a licensed gun dealer on behalf of the gun owner within the times set forth above so that the gun owner is able to comply with the law.

In other cases (that do not involve a protective order or a more specific court order), the person with Power of Attorney for Firearms Relinquishment, Sale or Disposal must do one of the following **within 30 days**:

- 1) Take the firearm(s) to a licensed firearms dealer so that it can be sold or transferred;
- 2) Surrender the firearm(s) to a California law enforcement agency for the purpose of safekeeping.
- 3) Surrender the firearm(s) to a California law enforcement agency for the purpose of destruction.

## 4) <u>Under no circumstances does completion of this form allow the designee to possess the firearm(s)</u> beyond the 30 day period. (Pen. Code, § 12078, subd. (d)(1).)

Special rules apply to assault weapons (as defined in Penal Code Sections 12276 and 12276.1; and in DOJ regulations) and .50 BMG rifles. Please contact the Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms at (916) 263-4887 for more information.

## Power of Attorney for Firearms Relinquishment, Sale or Disposal - Declaration

I,	, hereby d	esignate	
(Printed Name of Firear	, hereby d	(Printed Name of	f Power of Attorney Designee)
to have Power of Attorney for the purpose of transferring or disposing of my firearm(s). This Power of			
Attorney designation is	only effective for 30 days fr	om the date of this designation	ation. This designation shall
become null and void af	ter 30 days. As the firearm	owner, I hereby declare, u	inder penalty of perjury
	ate of California, that the for		
	esignee is not prohibited from		
	1.1, or Welfare and Institution		
that during my prohibiti	on period, I cannot possess of	or have access to my firear	rms, or any other firearms.
		-	-
			Date:
	Signature of Firear	n Owner/Possessor	
I.	, hereby	agree to accept appointme	ent as Power of Attorney for
(Printed Name of Power of A	ttorney Designee)		
the sole purpose of trans	ferring or disposing firearm	is on behalf of	, the
		(Priniea Name oj	Firearm Owner/Possessor)
			bility to carry out one of the
			nder the laws of the State of
	ng the included list of prohi	bitions, that I am not prohi	ibited by law from
possessing firearms.			
	Sign styles of Down	of Attorney Designee	Date:
	Signature of Power	of Allorney Designee	
	CALIFORNIA ALL-F	PURPOSE ACKNOWLE	CDGMENT
()	<i>Iust be notarized by a perso</i>		
(1)	iusi be notarizea by a perso	in who is <u>nor</u> a party to the	s in ansaction?
In the state of California	, county of	. on	
	,	,	(Date)
before me,		, the following indi	viduals personally appeared:
	e and Title of Officer (e.g.,, "Jane	_	
(Printed Name of Fire	earm Owner/Possessor)	(Printed Name of	f Power of Attorney Designee)
I declare that these indix	viduals are personally known	n to ma OP proved 1	
	isfactory evidence of identit		
	•		
	ibed to within the instrumen		
•	e same in their authorized c		
ment signatures on the fr	strument the persons, or the	entity upon benan of	

(Official Seal of Notary)

(Signature of Notary)

which the persons acted, executed the instrument.

Questions concerning prohibited persons legal status or questions pertaining to use of this form may be directed to the Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms at (916) 263-4887.

## FIREARMS PROHIBITING CATEGORIES

#### State and federal law make it unlawful for certain persons to own and/or possess firearms, including:

- Any person who is convicted of a felony, or any offense enumerated in Section 12021.1 of the Penal Code
- Any person who is ordered to not possess firearms as a condition of probation or other court order
- Any person who is convicted of a misdemeanor listed in Section 12021(c)(1) of the Penal Code (refer to List of Prohibiting Misdemeanors)
- Any person who is adjudged a ward of the juvenile court because he or she committed an offense listed in 707(b) of the Welfare and Institutions Code (WIC), an offense described in Section 1203.073(b), or any offense enumerated in Section 12021(c)(1)
- Any person who is subject to a temporary restraining order or an injunction issued pursuant to Section 527.6 or 527.8 of the Code of Civil Procedure, a protective order as defined in Section 6218 of the Family Code, a protective order issued pursuant to Section 136.2 or 646.91 of the Penal Code, or a protective order issued pursuant to WIC Section 15657.03
- Any person who is found by a court to be a danger to himself, herself, or others because of a mental illness
- Any person who is found by a court to be mentally incompetent to stand trial
- Any person who is found by a court to be not guilty by reason of insanity
- Any person who is adjudicated to be a mentally disordered sex offender
- Any person who is placed on a conservatorship because he or she is gravely disabled as a result of a mental disorder, or an impairment by chronic alcoholism
- Any person who communicates a threat to a licensed psychotherapist against a reasonably identifiable victim, that has been reported by the psychotherapist to law enforcement
- Any person who is taken into custody as a danger to self or others under WIC Section 5150, assessed under WIC Section 5151, and admitted to a mental health facility under WIC Sections 5151, 5152, or certified under WIC Sections 5250, 5260, and 5270.15
- Any person who is addicted to the use of narcotics (state and federal)
- Any person who is under indictment or information in any court for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year (federal)
- Any person who has been discharged from the military under dishonorable conditions (federal)
- Any person who is an illegal alien (federal)
- Any person who has renounced his or her US Citizenship (federal)
- Any person who is a fugitive from justice (federal)

## LIST OF PROHIBITING MISDEMEANORS

Firearm prohibitions for misdemeanor violations of the offenses listed below are generally for ten years from the date of conviction, but the duration of each prohibition may vary. All statutory references are to the California Penal Code, unless otherwise indicated.

- Threatening public officers, employees, and school officials (§ 71.)
- Threatening certain public officers, appointees, judges, staff or their families with the intent and apparent ability to carry out the threat (§ 76.)
- Intimidating witnesses or victims (§ 136.1.)
- Possessing a deadly weapon with the intent to intimidate a witness (§ 136.5.)
- Threatening witnesses, victims, or informants (§ 140.)
- Attempting to remove or take a firearm from the person or immediate presence of a public or peace officer (§ 148(d).)
- Unauthorized possession of a weapon in a courtroom. Courthouse, or court building, or at a public meeting (§ 171(b).)
- Bringing into or possessing a loaded firearm within the state capitol, legislative offices, etc. (§ 171(c).)
- Taking into or possessing loaded firearms within the Governor's Mansion or residence of other constitutional officers (§ 171(d).)
- Supplying, selling or giving possession of a firearm to a person for participation in criminal street gangs (§ 186.28.)
- Assault (§§ 240, 241.)
- Battery (§§ 242, 243.)
- Assault with a stun gun or taser weapon (§ 244.5.)
- Assault with a deadly weapon other than a firearm, or with force likely to produce great bodily injury (§ 245.)
- Assault with a deadly weapon or instrument; by any means likely to produce great bodily injury or with a stun gun or taser on a school employee engaged in performance of duties (§ 245.5.)
- Discharging a firearm in a grossly negligent manner (§ 246.3.)
- Shooting at an unoccupied aircraft, motor vehicle, or uninhabited building or dwelling house (§ 247.)
- Inflicting corporal injury on a spouse or significant other (§ 273.5.)\*
- Wilfully violating a domestic protective order (§ 273.6.)
- Drawing, exhibiting, or using deadly weapon other than a firearm (§ 417(a)(1) and (a)(2).)
- Inflicting serious bodily injury as a result of brandishing (§ 417.6.)
- Making threats to commit a crime which will result in death or great bodily injury to another person (§ 422.)
- Bringing into or possessing firearms upon or within public schools and grounds (§ 626.9.)
- Stalking (§ 646.9.)
- Armed criminal action (§ 12023.)
- Possessing a deadly weapon with intent to commit an assault (§ 12024.)
- Driver of any vehicle who knowingly permits another person to discharge a firearm from the vehicle or any person who willfully and maliciously discharges a firearm from a motor vehicle (§ 12034(b) or (d).)
- Criminal possession of a firearm (§ 12040.)
- Firearms dealer who sells, transfers or gives possession of any firearm to a minor or a handgun to a person under 21 (§ 12072(b).)
- Various violations involving sales and transfers of firearms (§ 12072(g)(3).)
- Person or corporation who sells any concealable firearm to any minor (former § 12100(a).)
- Unauthorized possession/transportation of a machine gun (§ 12220.)
- Possession of ammunition designed to penetrate metal or armor (§ 12320.)
- Carrying a concealed or loaded firearm or other deadly weapon or wearing a peace officer uniform while picketing (§ 12590.)
- Bringing firearm related contraband into juvenile hall (§ 871.5 WIC.)
- Bringing firearm related contraband into a youth authority institution (§ 1001.5 WIC.)
- Purchase, possession, or receipt of a firearm or deadly weapon by a person receiving in-patient treatment for a mental disorder, or by a person who has communicated to a licensed psychotherapist a serious threat of physical violence against an identifiable victim (§ 8100 WIC.)
- Providing a firearm or deadly weapon to a person described in WIC 8100 or 8103 (§ 8101 WIC.)
- Purchase, possession, or receipt of a firearm or deadly weapon by a person who has been adjudicated to be a mentally disordered sex offender or found to be mentally incompetent to stand trial, or not guilty by reason of insanity, and individuals placed under conservatorship (§ 8103 WIC.)

#### The following misdemeanor convictions result in a lifetime prohibition:

- Assault with a firearm (§§ 12021(a)(1), 12001.6(a).)
- Shooting at an inhabited or occupied dwelling house, building, vehicle, aircraft, housecar or camper (§§ 246, 12021(a)(1), 12001.6(b).)
- Brandishing a firearm in presence of a peace officer (§§ 417(c), 12001.6(d), 12021(a)(1).)
- Two or more convictions of 417(a)(2) (§ 12021(a)(2).)
- \* A "misdemeanor crime of domestic violence" (§§ 18 U.S.C. 921(a)(33)(A), 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(9).)

# Note: The Department of Justice provides this document for informational purposes only. This list may not be inclusive of all firearms prohibitions. For specific legal advice, please consult with an attorney licensed to practice law in California.