Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Civil Division
Photos by Adam Stewart
Nelson Vineyards, south of Ukiah - Photo courtesy of Kim Weston


Office Hours:

8:30am-3:00pm Monday through Friday, excluding judicial holidays

Telephone hours:

8:30am-1:00pm, Monday through Friday, excluding judicial holidays

Ukiah Fort Bragg
Phone:  (707) 468-2003 Phone:  (707) 964-3192 


Civil Court services are available at both court locations.



Small Claims - When the amount being sought is $5,000 or less, ($10,000 or less for natural persons) then the claim may be filed in Small Claims.

Limited Civil - (Code of Civil Procedure section 85 et seq.)  The amount claimed cannot be for more than $25,000.

Unlimited Civil - The amount claimed is generally more than $25,000, but can be for smaller amounts in certain types of cases. Other types of cases filed in the unlimited jurisdiction is family law, probate, guardianship, conservatorship, juvenile, restraining orders, Uniform Parentage Act, Uniform Interstate Family Support Act; freedom from parental custody and control proceedings; adoption proceedings, petitions for name change; election contest petitions; and petitions for relief from late claims.

On-Line Case Calendar

View the next 30 days of hearings on calendar:

    Courtroom E Calendar
    Courtroom G Calendar
    Ten Mile (Fort Bragg) Branch Calendar

For specific assignments, contact the court clerk.  See the calendar bulletin board on the first level of the Ukiah courthouse for that day's court assignment.  Calendar times and places are subject to change at any time.

Forms and Filing

Forms may be found on our Forms and Filing section on our website, picked up, photocopied or printed at the court's Self-help Centor or at the Law Library or downloaded from the Judicial Council website.

All paperwork must be typewritten or nearly written in black ink.  There are typewriters available for public use at the Public Library at 105 North Main Street Ukiah, or the Law Library in the Ukiah Courthouse, Room 107.  Public access computers available for filling out legal forms in the SHLA center, Room 304 of the Ukiah Courthouse.

By law, the clerks cannot provide legal advice, including which forms to use.


See the Fee Schedule for civil filing and appearance fees. If you believe that you are unable to afford these fees, ask the court clerk for a Request to Waive Fees. There is no charge for this form.


Requests for copies or certified copies of a document may be made in person at the Clerk's Office or submitted in writing by mail. We cannot take requests over the phone. Various copy, search, and certification fees may apply.

Please see the Copies and Certified Copies page for more information.


Cáse files are available for viewing by the public at the Clerk's Offices in both branches. You will need to provide the case number for the file(s) to be retrieved for viewing to avoid a Record Search fee. Files generally will be available for viewing on the next business day after the request for the file is made.

Please see the Viewing a File page for more information.

Telephonic Appearances

Unless otherwise ordered, parties may appear by telephone in cases defined in California Rule of Court 3.670(b) and in proceedings defined in California Rule of Court 3.670(c). The court has contracted with CourtCall, LLC to provide teleconferencing services for court appearances. Information as to the forms and fees for requesting telephonic appearances may be obtained directly from CourtCall at 1-888-88-COURT (1-888-882-6878).


Ex Parte Hearings

Contact the court to reserve your hearing date at least one-day prior to the date you wish your matter heard.  Notice requirements are in accordance with California Rule of Court 3.1203.  All paperwork must be submitted to the clerk’s office no later than 11:00 am the day of your hearing including the Declaration Regarding Notice.  Local form number MMC-120 can be used.


Tentative Rulings

The Court issues tentative rulings on certain civil matters. Rulings are posted on the Tentative Rulings web page by 3:00pm of the court day prior to the scheduled hearing. See the Tentative Rulings web page for details on the tentative rulings process.

Tentative Rulings Web Page >>
© 2020 Superior Court of Mendocino County